KB User's Guide - Documents Tab - Changing a Document's Status to "Deleted"
Sometimes you may want to delete a document that is no longer necessary or that was created in error. Before moving forward, please consider the document retention policies of your KB Group and that of your institution.
What Happens When I Delete a Document?
When you "Delete" a document, the original status (e.g. In Progress, Inactive, etc.) of that document is changed to "Deleted" and the document is moved to the Trash.
The image below shows the document ,"How to View a Solar Eclipse", is in the Trash queue with the status of Deleted.
Deleting a Document
- Open the KB Admin Tools and locate your document.
- If needed, update the document Status to one of of these statuses:
- In Review
- In Progress
Note: The "Delete" button is not available on a document with the singular status of Active. The document must be Inactive or set to a draft status.
The image below demonstrates that Document 60818, when viewed while in the status of Active has no Delete button on which to click. However, when the exact same document is changed to the status of In Review, the Delete button appears.
- While viewing the document, click the Delete button above the document (on the far right of the row of buttons).
- Click OK in the popup box to confirm that this document should be deleted.
If previously Active, the deleted document will no longer be visible in the KB live site. It will only be available in the KB Admin Tools in the Trash queue. If the document needs to be restored at a later time, only someone with Publish rights will be able to do so. See KB User's Guide - Documents Tab - Restoring a deleted document for more information about restoring deleted KB documents.